top of page

Gajar ka Halwa:

Updated: Apr 23, 2021

Winter desserts are my absolute favourite. Especially since I come from a Punjabi household, royal desserts like Gajar halwa or gajrela as we call it is a must in the household at least 3-5 times till the winter season lasts.



Ingredients:


Method:

1. Heat up olive oil or vegan ghee in the pan and once it is hot, add the grated carrots.

2. Fry the carrots for 5-7 minutes and then let it cook on medium low for 3 minutes untouched.

3. Repeat the process again. Combined time to let the carrots cook is ~15 minutes. The carrots will start to smell delicious.



4. Then add the vegan condensed milk.

5. It might seem like it is too much but keep stirring it and the mixture will be dry soon.

6. Once you know the consistency has thickened up, it is ready to serve dry.


In my family recipe, the halwa is enjoyed moist, but if you like it to be a little dry, don’t worry, it gets dry as you keep it to cool or after some days have passed.



If you have tried any of my recipes, then I would love to know what you think about it do share it with me on Instagram.



29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page